You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
➜ ~ gh auth logout --help
Remove authentication for a GitHub account.
This command removes the stored authentication configuration
for an account. The authentication configuration is only
removed locally.
This command does not invalidate authentication tokens.
It's a somewhat common question that people ask about revocation in some form or another:
We should update the help text on gh auth logout to indicate that to revoke CLI generated OAuth tokens they should navigate to https://github.com/settings/applications (or equivalent on their targeted host) and click the Revoke button.
Acceptance Criteria
When I run gh auth logout --help Then I see directions on how to revoke CLI OAuth tokens, and a warning that it will revoke all the OAuth tokens.
Notes
Should we also consider adding another issue for gh auth revoke-all --really-really-I-mean-it which does this programmatically? I think it's available via an API?
Should we also consider adding another issue for gh auth revoke-all --really-really-I-mean-it which does this programmatically? I think it's available via an API?
@williammartin : I'm unsure if the OAuth authorization REST APIs are designed for anyone outside of the OAuth application owner to reset or delete a token, meaning I'm unsure if users can do it themselves. 🤔
Should we also consider adding another issue for gh auth revoke-all --really-really-I-mean-it which does this programmatically? I think it's available via an API?
@williammartin : I'm unsure if the OAuth authorization REST APIs are designed for anyone outside of the OAuth application owner to reset or delete a token, meaning I'm unsure if users can do it themselves. 🤔
FWIW, my understanding was the same: only the owner can do it from the API and users cannot.
Activity
andyfeller commentedon Feb 24, 2025
@williammartin : I'm unsure if the OAuth authorization REST APIs are designed for anyone outside of the OAuth application owner to reset or delete a token, meaning I'm unsure if users can do it themselves. 🤔
BagToad commentedon Feb 24, 2025
FWIW, my understanding was the same: only the owner can do it from the API and users cannot.
williammartin commentedon Feb 25, 2025
Good to know, thank you.